Mauve Floral Matching Set

Hi friends! Look at this beautiful two piece matching set I made using this gorgeous cotton lawn fabric. Lately, I have been getting into the rhythm of sewing two piece matching sets. I want to get more out of my memade garments, and an effective way to do that is by making multiple garments with the same fabric (i.e create two piece matching sets).

New Look 6808 Top, View B

Fabric Selection

The fabric features an ivory and red floral print with a mauve colored background, and it’s a 57 inch wide 100% cotton. This fabric is offered in an orchre color (yellowish-orange) as well.

https://www.minerva.com/mp/1247484/cotton-lawn-fabric-mauve&variant=1247445

This fabric is perfect for making a beautiful Autumn dress, top, or skirt. Since this is a lightweight fabric that is translucent and slightly sheer, a lining may be required for tops, dresses, and/or skirts. Although, a lining may not be required when making dusters or coverups.

I used a pink lyocell lining for the top and skirt that I purchased from my local fabrics and craft store. It was perfect for this project. The lyocell fabric has a smooth finish and is fluid, so it feels soft against the skin.

Pattern Choice:

Let’s talk pattern choice. I used the New Look 6437 for the skirt and the New Look 6808 for the top.

The NL6437 features a skirt pattern with a front flat waistband, and elasticated back band, pockets, a gathered front skirt, and a tie belt. The pattern has several length variations and an overlay skirt option as well. The fabric suggestions for this pattern includes light-medium weight cotton, chambray, and cotton-poly fabrics. So this lawn fabric was a perfect choice for this skirt pattern.

New Look 6808 (top), New Look 6437 (skirt)

For this project I wanted to keep things simple because I was adding a lining. There’s a pattern option in which you can use a lining, and I selected that variation to complete the skirt. In terms of adjustments or alterations, I shortened the skirt pattern by a few inches. No other alterations or adjustments were needed.

New Look 6808 (top), New Look 6437 (skirt)
New Look 6808 (top), New Look 6437 (skirt)

The NL 6808 top pattern includes six variations. The pattern actually features two patterns inside one envelope because the cut and design of the top varies.

New Look 6808 Top, View B

I wanted to keep this project simple because I added a lining, and the pattern does not call for a lining. I chose view B, which is a simple four piece pattern that includes, the front, back, sleeves, and front and back facings. Although, I did not use the pattern pieces for the facing because I lined the top. I lined the top with the same lyocell lining that I lined the skirt with, and it turned out lovely as well. I also made bias binding and bow ties for the sleeves. The binding was used to cover the raw edges of the sleeves, and the two bow ties were added at the bottom the of each sleeve as an extra detail.

New Look 6808 Top, View B

I paired this set with a matching pair of red kitten heels to add more style to this outfit. Come late Autumn, I plan to style this outfit with a red cardigan as well. However, I won’t wear the red kitten heels with the red cardigan. That maybe too much red. What you think?

New Look 6808 Top, View B

Overall, I’m thrilled with how this outfit turned out, and I’m excited to wear this two piece matching set this Autumn. Let me know what you think about this new memade!

Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog post. Have a happy sewing week!

Tea

Comments

Leave a comment